Types of Breast Cancer | Blog By Dr. Reena Khandelwal, Paras Bliss, New Delhi

Types of Breast Cancer

Types of Breast Cancer

by: Dr. Reena Khandelwal
Sr. Consultant - Obstetrics & Gynecology Paras Bliss New Delhi

Breast cancer can begin in different areas of the breast — the ducts, the lobules, or in some cases, the tissue in between. Here in this blog, you can obtain information about different types of breast cancer, including non-invasive, invasive, recurrent, and metastatic breast cancers, as well as the intrinsic or molecular subtypes of breast cancer.

Types of Breast Cancer based on extent and location :

IDC (Invasive Ductal Carcinoma): Invasive ductal carcinoma (IDC), sometimes called infiltrating ductal carcinoma, is the most common type of breast cancer. Invasive means that cancer has “invaded” or spread to the surrounding breast tissues. Ductal means that cancer began in the milk ducts, which are the “pipes” that carry milk from the milk-producing lobules to the nipple.

DCIS (Ductal Carcinoma In Situ): Ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS) is the most common type of non-invasive breast cancer. Ductal means that cancer starts inside the milk ducts, carcinoma refers to any cancer that begins in the skin or other tissues (including breast tissue) that cover or line the internal organs, and in situ means “in its original place.” DCIS is called “non-invasive” because it hasn’t spread beyond the milk duct into any normal surrounding breast tissue. DCIS isn’t life-threatening, but having DCIS can increase the risk of developing an invasive breast cancer later on.

ILC (Invasive Lobular Carcinoma): Invasive lobular carcinoma (ILC), sometimes called infiltrating lobular carcinoma, is the second most common type of breast cancer after invasive ductal carcinoma (cancer that begins in the milk-carrying ducts and spreads beyond it). Invasive means that cancer has “invaded” or spread to the surrounding breast tissues. Lobular means that cancer began in the milk-producing lobules, which empty out into the ducts that carry milk to the nipple.

LCIS (Lobular Carcinoma In Situ): Lobular carcinoma in situ (LCIS) is an area (or areas) of abnormal cell growth that increases a person’s risk of developing invasive breast cancer later on in life. Lobular means that the abnormal cells start growing in the lobules, the milk-producing glands at the end of breast ducts.

Inflammatory Breast Cancer: Inflammatory breast cancer (IBC) is a rare and aggressive form of breast cancer. Inflammatory breast cancer usually starts with the reddening and swelling of the breast instead of a distinct lump. IBC tends to grow and spread quickly, with symptoms worsening within days or even hours.

Paras Bliss Guraon
Paras Bliss Panchkula